Help with Portable Lighting and power source

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Coach Magee, May 23, 2015.

1. Coach Magee

Thread Starter New Member

May 23, 2015
    I am a football coach of a peewee team (21 seasons!). For the first time ever, we will be practicing in the evenings in an un-lit field, situated in a suburban neighborhood which has strict laws against running generators (noice restrictions, pollution, etc.) . I need to light the field two nights a week for 90 minutes, and be able to illuminate an area at least 40' x 40' so the kids can see what we are doing!

The field is too far from the parking lot to consider using the parents car lights

There is an electrical outlet about 300 feet away... and I do have a nice 4000 lumen halogen lamp, but doubt that would work (?) due to the distance of the field from the plug... 300 feet of electrical extension cord would seem like a bad idea (right?).

I was thinking of buying a high powered portable car battery charger that has AC outlets built in, and plugging in the halo lamp to that? Easy if it would do the trick, but would a 600amp charger drive a 300 watt lamp for 90 minutes? If that isn't the answer, what might you suggest? I have a total budget of about $400

The other idea was to go with DC car fog lights (55w ea) and hooking those up somehow to a Deep Cycle battery... but that is a lot of builing and I'm not shure how i would mount the lights to get some height, nor how long it would take to set up /take down each night...

While I have written books on coaching football, I know NOTHING about electricity principals or formulas... I need ideas and suggestion on what might be an appropriate and affordable answer... a diagram or links to specific items would be welcome!

2. blocco a spirale

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 18, 2008