Help with Oscilloscope

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by ryugreen, Feb 2, 2014.

1. ryugreen

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 2, 2014
    Hi there,

New member here. I picked up a Bk Precision 1476A at a HAM radio swap here in Richmond last week for pretty cheap but wasn't able to test it before buying it.

I am new to scopes so I don't know exactly what to look for but something seem s a bit off on this one.

The problems i'm noticing is when I try to adjust the astigmatism control, and set it to xy mode and ground, the manual says I should get a small circle/dot. I get instead a line about 2-3mm's long. No amount of turning the adjuster turns it into a dot. I have attached a picture to show this.

ALso when I run a wire to the probe adjustment square wave jack on the front, I get what looks like a good square wave, but a second identical wave seems to be behind kind of bouncing. I can never get the square wave stable as it just bounces.

This also occurs when I have nothing hooked in at all. It looks like the line is out of focus but when i focus it up and zoom in I notice that in fact the flat line is rising and falling every so slightly. This seems to happen on both channels. So there is some kind of noise or something.

Could this be indicative of a bad unit? Really disappointed if so. Seems like I should be getting a flat line at the very least. You just can't trust people at meetups any more.

Either way, thanks so much for you help,

Ryan G.

2. Mike33

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 4, 2005
    Hi,

While I'm no pro, I do have an analog scope & know how to use it pretty well.