help with octopus curve tracer

nonelectron

Joined Apr 3, 2014
Hi there guys and gals!!

This is my first time posting on this forum so don't bash me to hard.:D
I recently bought an oscilloscope and want to make an octopus curve tracer. There are many schematics online that I have seen. Most of them are using a 120v ac in to 6.3v ac out. Then they're only using one secondary wire and the center tap to get 3.15v ac. also the device under test(DUT) is seeing a max 1v 1ma? am i understanding this correctly?

Basically what i want to do is use a transformer that i already have. Problem is its output is 9v 800ma? I don't know if it has a center tap or not as i haven't tore the wall wart apart yet. i have learned OHM's law and am getting familiar with Kirchoffs law thinking i can figure out the different resister values to get me down to 1v 1ma for the DUT. Am i on the right track . please help me with this so i can learn in the process

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I think your wall wart is unlikely to have a center tap. You might consider just using a pair of AAs.

What is your DUT? Note that you will supply a voltage and it will draw whatever current it wants. Or, you can supply a fixed current by varying the voltage. You cannot usually specify both at the same time.

Somebody here probably knows all about octopus curves, but not me.

joeyd999

Joined Jun 6, 2011
Why do you think you need a center tapped transformer?

Why do you think you cannot use 9VAC?

If 9VAC is too high, you can string a voltage divider (adjustable?) across the transformer. You just need to use that Kirchhoff's* law you are getting familiar with to select the proper resistor values...

*Please note proper spelling of Kirchhoff

nonelectron

Joined Apr 3, 2014