Help with mimicking VSS output for running odometer mileage up

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by jonathaned3, Aug 23, 2015.

1. jonathaned3

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 23, 2015
    First of all, I'll be honest. Most everything here is WELL beyond my skill set. I'm a welder/fabricator. So I'm looking for some help from you guys.

I'm working on an old Honda that has a new(er) speedometer transplant. When we first did the speedometer swap, we weren't concerned with odometer mileage accuracy. Now we've decided we would like to make the odometer reading accurate to the original. This means we need to run up approximately 40k miles.

Dissecting the speedometer/odometer to roll the miles forward is NOT an option due to the way it's mounted and the irreplaceability of the gauge housing itself. We don't want to risk it whatsoever.

Me being mechanically inclined decided we'll do it with a drill or a small motor hooked to the speed sensor. This works, but isn't ideal, and we can't safely spin the VSS for extended periods of time without constant supervision.

I would like to run up 40k miles electronically by bypassing the VSS all together and tricking the speedometer into thinking it's getting a signal and it's running 100-130mph. I need a way to supply a signal to the speedo for a few weeks straight.

Some info on the VSS based on my testing and research:

-output signal from VSS to speedometer is square wave (no clue what this means! But I'm sure you do)
    -output VOLTAGE from VSS to speedometer ranges from 0-5v. 5v when the speed is zero, and somewhere closer to 0volts as speed increases. (Yes, 5v at zero and decreases with speed)
    -Honda uses a 4k pulse per mile

So knowing the above, I figured I need to supply somewhere between a 111hz and 144hz signal to the speedometer (1/4,000*111*3,600 seconds per hour)

111hz = 100 mph
    133hz = 120mph
    144hz = 130mph