Help with Induction Motor

blah2222

Joined May 3, 2010
Hi, my question is just on the basis on a small summer project I have. I'm currently in 2nd year and have taken a couple Electricity and Power courses, and am very interested in building my own induction motor.

My actual question is just how manageable building a single-phase or even a three phase (2-pole) induction motor is?

I understand that the three phase is better suited for large scale power operations but I have no clue what the feasibility of building these things are, or even how much I might be spending in time and more importantly in money.

Just curious,

Thank you for reading,
JP

JDT

Joined Feb 12, 2009
It is fairly easy to build something that will demonstrate the principal.

Impossible to build an induction motor that will compete with commercial mass-produced one.

blah2222

Joined May 3, 2010
It is fairly easy to build something that will demonstrate the principal.

Impossible to build an induction motor that will compete with commercial mass-produced one.
Oh for sure, in no way do I want to build a commercial-equivalent motor lol, mine would be pretty crap lol

Thank you for the reply.

Just another quick question. In school, I'm more comfortable with the three phase model. For my supply can I just set up my sources as three outlet AC adapters then space the poles 120 degrees apart? Adapter output voltages to use?

Ideally I know that the motor speed is determined on the poles and input frequency but is what types of input voltages should I be using?

Thanks again,
JP

Jaguarjoe

Joined Apr 7, 2010
What's going to provide the 120 degrees phase shift of your three AC adapters?
Adapter voltage will be determined by the windings of the motor.

rjenkins

Joined Nov 6, 2005
The simplest AC motor is a 'shaded pole' type.

Put a coil on one end of a mild steel bar and put a copper band around the other.

Place the middle of the bar near (tangentally to) a metal disc mounted on bearings.