Help with FM Broadcast Radio receiver

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by ke5nnt, Oct 5, 2010.

1. ke5nnt

Thread Starter Active Member

Mar 1, 2009
    I've searched AAC forums and looked over a lot of topics on this subject (somewhat on this subject). There are a lot of posts with broken links now, they're pretty old.

I'm interested in building a little FM radio with enough gain to drive a little 2 inch speaker or so. I built the radio on this page using the schematic titled "original" and I don't get anything but static on it. I've tried tweaking it a number of times but just can't seem to get it working.

On top of the parts for the schematic above, I have all the parts for a little 1-watt amp circuit I was going to add to this thing, schematic for that found HERE.

I'll be honest, this is my first time messing with RF circuits so I'm not entirely sure what I'm doing, but I'd like to learn as I go. I read in one of the old posts somebody suggesting that 1-transistor radios are crap and that you should build a 3-transistor radio. I'm fine with that, I just don't get any good results back when I try to search for some projects on google. Guidance and suggestions would be hugely appreciated. Thanks so much.

2. marshallf3

Jul 26, 2010
    That certainly is a unique circuit using a voltage controlled zener as the output stage. Problem here is the overall circuit gain is derived using the super-regenerative method.

Dealing with construction around 100 MHz isn't easy, you can't easily breadboard anything unless you use the dead bug method that I never reallly liked.

FM radio receiver circuits abound on the internet as do single IC solutions. I'd go for something a bit more conventional in design.

3. bertus

Administrator

Apr 5, 2008
  4. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    Haven't seen ya in a while!