Help with FFT of Bipolar EEG Montage in Matlab EEGLAB

HayWire

Joined Dec 3, 2012
Hi all!

I'd be very grateful if somebody would be willing to look over what I came up with via an amateur attempt to FFT and EEG file, to see if 'what I think I found' appears to valid to bring as questions to a neurologist. I've included screencaps of the FFT and electrode positions. I apologize in advance for anything I've overlooked - I have no science background, and I'm trying to muddle through this anyhow due to the medical urgency.

PROCECURE TO ACQUIRE DATA FOR FFT:

Resting EEG (awake, non-sleep-deprived) was recorded in the hospital using Cadwell software. Patient is a 40 year old female experiencing intermittent strokelike symptoms. Hospital did visual inspection of EEG tracings, only to rule out epilepsy.

I exported unscaled data from a Cadwell .EAS file to .EDF using Cadwell's free EEG Anywhere file reader off their website. Broke into two export files by montage. Imported both files into Matlab's freeware compiled version of EEGLAB, manually rejected the most obvious muscle artifact, and generated an FFT. (At least that's what I think I did... :D )

I did not find a way to split out individual electrode signals to enable generation of scalp maps. I did not alter filter settings. I generated FFT of subsets of the data to determine which electrode pairings were represented by which colored line, as EEGLAB only seems to include seven color options, and does not label them with electrode pair labels.

UNVALIDATED ASSUMPTIONS AND FFT REVIEW CRITERIA USED:

The principles I used to check for 'anything weird' on the EEG were that:
- both sides of the brain should be doing sort of the same thing
- 'alpha' frequencies (i.e. those between 8 and 13 Hz) are considered the normal 'idling rhythm' of the adult brain, so if there's a distinct peak on a line, it should be somewhere in there