Help with delayed circuits

nofrills

Joined Apr 5, 2009
Hi everybody, I'm fairly new to the game so please forgive me if my terminology is a little off..

Anyway, I'm installing three aftermarket gauges in a car (12v) - theyre the type that are black-faced until the engine is switched on. Normally i'd have no trouble wiring them up to turn on simultaneously as the key reaches the 'on' position. However, just for fun, I'd like to have them all switch on one after the other instead of at the same time. I'm thinking half a second delay or something in that vicinity

Here is where my lack of terminology comes in - I realise that I will probably need some sort of timer to fit to the second and third circuits to effect the delay, but I have no idea exactly what to ask for. Alternatively there may be a cheaper way to do it that I haven't thought of.

It's probably a simple answer for most of you. But if anyone can tell me what I should be looking for, that would be greatly appreciated!

nofrills

Joined Apr 5, 2009
Hi, thanks for the reply - I don't have the guages with me to go off of, unfortunately, but they are all mechanical-type. In other words, the only current they will be drawing would be enough for the single 12v bulb in each to light up. Is that enough information? I can have a quick look online and see if I can find some other specs for them, but no guarantee. Cheers

nofrills

Joined Apr 5, 2009
thanks for that, im still getting my head around it.. correct me if i'm wrong here, but:

1.the relay is not powered until the transistor is switched
2.the transistor only switches once the base recieves sufficient negative voltage
3.negative voltage is generated by the capacitor in circuit with the resistors?

im just having a little trouble working out why there is a normal resistor and a variable resistor?

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
thanks for that, im still getting my head around it.. correct me if i'm wrong here, but: