Help with circuit project for newby

LASERSC

Joined Oct 11, 2010
I am trying to build a circuit to control (3)three 40 watt, 120v light bulbs. I want them to light in order A-B-C and then repeat continuously. Would prefer all bulbs to stay lit for about 15 seconds. A way to control the length of time each bulb would remain lit that is built in to the circuit would be nice as well. I am new at this and just don't know where to begin. Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010
Would you be offended if we asked that you used a 12V transformer to reduce the mains voltage to a safe level then help you work out the circuit using 12V light bulbs or LEDs?

LASERSC

Joined Oct 11, 2010
offended? heck no! That would work great, probably a lot better that what I was going to do. Any help, diagrams, links, it would be great. And, thanks for your fast reply

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Would you be offended if we asked that you used a 12V transformer to reduce the mains voltage to a safe level then help you work out the circuit using 12V light bulbs or LEDs?
Excellent advice. The project will be orders of magnitude easier, cheaper and safer taking this approach. IMHO, it's actually MORE educational as well.

LASERC, can you come up with some specifications? I mean, you started with 3x40w light bulbs. If instead you end up with 3 bright LEDs, is that OK? Do you want one of the lights on at all times (one goes on when another goes off)? Would you like to vary the rate that the lights switch? Anything like this that you feel MUST be included, let the folks here know and you'll find plenty of help.

LASERSC

Joined Oct 11, 2010