Help with Circuit for Power Generation

hin

Joined Apr 27, 2013
Hi everyone!

I am new to electronics and have been learning the basics. I am trying to make a power harvesting device that generates power from the kinetic energy of a person while they are moving. The kinetic energy of the person drives a small motor generator, the generated power gets stored in a capacitor and is used to power a lower power electric device (around 1.5v, 20ma).

Is the circuit I have designed below workable?

The DC motor will output between 0 and 4.5v depending on the speed the person moves. The DC motor can turn both clockwise and anti-clockwise so there is a rectifier bridge. And there is a blocking diode to prevent the current flowing back to the motor from the capacitor. The linear voltage regular ensures a 1.5v output.

I expect that the small motor generator will produce very small amounts of power and my concern is that the rectifier bridge and blocking diodes will cause a significantly voltage drop even when using Schottky diodes and there will be further losses from the linear voltage regulator. Can anyone suggest if there might be a better way to do this to allow the best chance of working?

Many thanks!

LDC3

Joined Apr 27, 2013
What you have will not work well. Since you have about a voltage drop of 2.1 V across the diodes, and you need at least 1.8 V for the regulator, you will not see a controlled output until the generator develops about 4 V. You will probably see some output between 3 and 4 V, but it will not have a 1.5 V regulated output.
Since the bridge diodes are configured the same way as your blocking diode, get rid of it. Now it is down to about 3.3 V.

shortbus

Joined Sep 30, 2009
Surprised no one so far has mentioned that as the OP said "And there is a blocking diode to prevent the current flowing back to the motor from the capacitor." The diode is backward, it allows the flow back to the motor.

hin

Joined Apr 27, 2013