Help with bipolar NPN selection

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by ke5nnt, Oct 30, 2009.

1. ke5nnt

Thread Starter Active Member

Mar 1, 2009
    I am trying to select the appropriate transistor for switching on and off an array of LEDs.

I am using 5V+ out of an output pin from a microcontroller into the NPNs base through a resistor. (I assume that 5V Vdd means I get 5V from an output pin, maybe I'm wrong?)

9V into LED array
    24 LEDs in array, 12 parallel columns each with 2 LEDs in series
    LEDs are Vf 3.2 @ .024A
    Total amp draw for array .288A
    Each series has 120Ω resistor
    All cathodes then go to NPN Collector
    Emitter to ground
    Base and Emitter are connected through a resistor.

I am thinking THIS TRANSISTOR.

Here are my calculations, please correct me if I'm wrong (this is the part I'm not that good with yet, at least I don't think).

HFE = 100
    Max load current = .288A
    R1 value (resistor from uC pin to Base) = 9V / (.288 / 100 * 1.3) = 2404 (note I added 30% extra current to ensure saturation), next standard resistor value = 2.7K

R2 value = R1*10 = 270K

NPN collector-emitter saturation voltage is 1.5V so...
    NPN power dissipation for this setup is 1.5V * .288A = 432mW (within the range of this NPN's max power dissipation rating of 900mW)

So, based on this I assume that since max collector current is 1A, and my array draws .288A, I'm ok here.
    Also, based on max Power Dissipation of 900mW and my calculated 432mW need, I'm ok here as well.

Am I correct that this NPN will work for my application?

Are my values for R1 and R2 correct?

Thanks!

2. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
  3. ke5nnt

Mar 1, 2009
    Thanks Sgt,

Couple of questions to help me understand a point better:
    What was it about my original choice that wasn't optimal?
    With the mosfet you recommended, aside from the 270 Ohm resistor from I/O to Gate, there's no need for a second resistor, or a need to connect the Gate to the Source?