Help with bi-polar (rg) random led project

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Newcircuit, May 9, 2013.

1. Newcircuit

Thread Starter New Member

May 7, 2013
    Hi all -
    I'm a newbie & I hope you'll be nice to me :). My goal is to create a simple circuit that would randomly flash a group of bi-polar leds either red or green.

Specifically, the process would be as follows:

1) press button to start random flashing (some leds flash red others green)
    2) press button again to stop flashing leaving only 1 led on.

I've searched around I found the following schematic from another forum user that I think may work. My questions are as follows:

Schematic\Breadboard Questions:

1) On the schematic (top left) what does "u2" mean? (it's to the left of the chip number 74ac14)
    2) Regarding the top left of the schematic where do I connect the 3.9M resistor? (It seems like it should go to pin 11 or 12 but then it doesn't connect to pin 13)

Also, how do I connect the capacitor? It seems like 1 leg of the capacitor is connected to pin 10 and other leg is NOT connected to pin 13.

Parts Questions:
    1) Resistors 2.2m,6.8m,3,9m,470... they come in different watt sizes, which ones should I be using? Does the composition matter (ceramic, carbon etc..)?

2) Capacitor .1uf ..same issue. Will any .1uf work for me?

Thanks for all your help. I really looking forward to ordering these parts and making this happen.

2. bertus

Administrator

Apr 5, 2008
  3. Newcircuit

May 7, 2013
    Wow!!! Thank looks great and a lot easier than my original schematic.

I need to use bi-polar (red/green) leds and have them INDIVIDUALLY be random (somtimes be red and sometime be green). How could this be done?

Also would there be a way to have it such that you push a button (to end the cycle) while keeping only 1 led lit?

Thanks for your reply.

4. THE_RB

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 11, 2008
    The typical way with one one red green LED pair is the old "electronic dice" circuit.