Help with an LED project

cinciredsfan10

Joined Apr 28, 2012
Hello everyone, I am getting into electronics and starting a couple projects and need some help. I made a simple 3-mirror laser spirograph with some small DC motors and had a great time making it and creating endless designs with it. Now I am trying to create a 3x3x3 LED cube and need some help. I dont have any experience with microcontrollers but I am wanting to learn. I am wanting to create something like this.... http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=DznDJryfFRQ ... I know how to muliplex the led diodes and solder everything up but coding the microcontroller is something i have zero experience with. My question is what all would i need to create this project. I want to use a pic16f84a controller. what type of programmer do i need along with what software. Also what all needs to be in the circuit to control the LED's with the microcontroller? any help is appreciated. Thanks and have a nice day

debjit625

Joined Apr 17, 2010
PIC16F84A is a very small mcu,with very limited I/O pins ,you will get 8 pins of PORTB and 4 pins of PORTA.When I first started learning about mcu I also started with PIC16F84A.The first thing you have to do is to get MPLAB from Microchip's website.Its the program where you can write programs for any PIC ,normally at first you will be learning PIC assembly language so you will not need any additional C compiler just MPLAB is enough it comes with MPASM (PIC assembler).Next you need a programmer to program the chip ,you have two choice .Built it your self, as I did for the first time ,when I was starting, second option buy one I brought ICD2 from Microchip ,as I need to debug too ,as you will do large project you will need to debug in real time. Their are more PIC programmer like PICSTART Plus,MPLAB PM3 and PICkit,but ICD will both program and debug ,its a bit costlier then others.

If you are planning to build your own programmer then I will prefer this...