Help with an idea

AWHATT1

Joined Jan 29, 2013
Hi this is my first post ! I have had an idea in my head for a while but not really sure how to create it . I am an electrician and do have some experience with electronics but not with designing circuits. What I need is some help to create a circuit that users can input a desired weight (in grams) . when the the set weight is reached an output is switched . I'm sure this is very simple but I don't know where to begin . Any help would be much appreciated . Thanks .

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
Is the desired mass fixed, or adjustable?

Does the user need a display, or just an LED indicating enough has been placed on the plate?

You'll want to start by looking at strain gauges and mounting. Here is a link that uses a Microcontroller (Atmel), but the strain gauge info is what you need most. (Watch the Video)

If no display is needed, and you have/can make a calibration weight, this could be done with a comparator and potentiometer. There would be no option for a readout.

For a display, and adjustable readout, you could use one of the beginner microcontroller packages that are quick to get going if you have any background in programming. Arduino (Programmed in C) and PICAXE (Programmed in BASIC) are the two main platforms, though there is the Basic Stamp (Also programmed in BASIC, but very much over-priced, IMO).

Do you have any special requirements, such as very small or very large physical size? What range should the scale be capable of, and with what accuracy? What is the switched output, such as voltage @ with ? current ability, relay contact, or other?

Last edited:

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
how much is your time worth? there is a wide array of commercially available products which will do what you want for under $300 dollars. If you're an electrician, you can make that much in a day & a half, whereas designing such a thing might take months. google "strain gauge panel meter relay output."

DickCappels