Help with a wire resitance heating project

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by SeanO, Jan 14, 2015.

1. SeanO

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 14, 2015
    Hello, Newbie here trying to do a DIY seed starter heating bed project. I'm looking for advice, thoughts, leads, etc.

I have a four 96" long by 5" wide shelves I am looking to run a heating element under to bring up the temperature of a bunch of seed trays in my cellar. Two shelves run 14" high, one 16" and one 18" high.

Target temperatures would be around 75, 75, 80 and 85 for the fours shelves. I would run four systems, as seeds go in and out of each shelf on different schedules.

The unit is insulated front (door panels) and back (fixed), and the flourescent lighting throws off some heat, so the goal is to raise the ambient cellar temperature (50's) up the small amount needed to hit those numbers above.

The preliminary design is to loop a wire run up and back inside sealed pvc (project involves watering of seeds above the heating element). The run would be around 17 feet total, and into a controller on the outside of the shelves. We would run the system off 110v, which is already on the unit for our lighting switches.

The first round of research indicated that NiChrome might be overkill, and that something like Kanthal wire might be a better choice for this project? I also found some digital thermostat controllers (link: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00KG3UZD8/ref=pe_457410_130549000_em_1p_0_ti ) which should keep the units at the desired temperature.

As stated above, I'm a Newb with all this and looking for advice.
    What I "think" I am grasping of this is that:

1. When I apply 110v current to the wire, it will heat up depending on the gauge and run of the wire.
    2. The controller can read the temperature of the space (or the soil) and send the 110v into the system as needed.