Help with a simple project for schools

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by GBart, Apr 15, 2013.

1. GBart

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 15, 2013
    In order to demonstrate the use of the theory of electromagnetism, I have built a small speaker from scratch using wire, a magnet, and a paper plate, and it works nicely, but it's very quiet. I've been trying to build a small amplifier for it, but I can't make it work. I majored in physics, so I have some experience with circuits, but not a lot.

How can I build a simple, cheap amplifying circuit with a 9-V battery and $5 of stuff from RadioShack? I tried using a LM386 amplifier, and I thought I had it connected correctly, but it just got hot when I connected the barrery. I've tried three times now (including once using an LM741) to get it to work and nothing is happening. Help please!?

2. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    Do you use a capacitor to couple the output of the LM386 to the speaker?

Post the complete circuit schematic.

3. joeyd999

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 6, 2011
    Since the project involves magnetism, and not electronics per se, why not just hook it up in place of the speaker on a cheap AM radio?

4. GBart

Apr 15, 2013
    I don't know how to answer that question so I don't think so, no.

And I don't think a schematic is really necessary, it would be quicker to explain: I connected the input to the in+ and in- pins as labeled on the diagram on the TI website (and it doesn't matter if I got the polarity wrong here, because it would just invert the signal otherwise, right?), then connected the battery to Vs (+) and ground (-), then connected the speaker to output and ground.

The +'s and -'s are really confusing because I think of current moving in the direction that the actual electrons move, which is from - to +. That's the opposite of how electricians see it, right?

Last edited: Apr 15, 2013
  5. GBart

Apr 15, 2013