Help With a new timer project

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by 1ronman, Jul 7, 2014.

1. 1ronman

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 7, 2014
    Hello all I am new to circuitry but i need to build a timer.

Atm i currently use a 555 based timer with a potentiometer to control the time between pulses i.e on my timer number 1 has a delay of 2 mins so it will pulse then nothing for 2 mins then pulse again right round to number 10 that has 15 seconds between pulses.

my question is im looking to update my system to a digital one with a lcd display instead of the potentiometer, does anyone know if you can buy them already made of if anyone has a circuit diagram i can have to make my own.

any help is welcome and im sorry for being a noob at this stuff.

1ronman

2. bance

Aug 11, 2012
    Get yourself an Arduino..... or if you are really interested, try a stand alone micro-controller such as PIC, Picaxe, AVR, STM430 etc.etc. You will have to learn how to programme them though!

HTH Seve.

3. 1ronman

Jul 7, 2014
    thanks for the reply i was hoping to build one that wouldn't cost a lot and is simple lol ta

4. bance

Aug 11, 2012
  5. Bernard

AAC Fanatic!

Aug 7, 2008
    Do you have just one counter with period of 2 min that on reaching count 10 changes counter to a 15 sec period? What controlls start & stop?
    Maybe a 555 , 4017 & some small parts.

6. 1ronman

Jul 7, 2014
    yes I have a timer that is connected to a pump it pumps every 2 mins on 1, every 15 seconds on 10 and everything between. my friend made it for me but I would like to update it too a digital one with lcd screen and buttons not the potentiometer but cant ask him as he is not around anymore.

the timer at the moment has a 555 chip I and small parts just wondered if anyone had a diagram of how to put one together or if you can buy one that you don't need to program as I would not now how to do that lol as I said im a noob at this stuff.

thanks
    1ronman

7. elec_mech

Nov 12, 2008