Help! Water-filled cylinder with rotating middle separator

KellyGates

Joined Mar 4, 2014
Hi all! I know that this is going to be one of "those" posts where somebody who knows nothing asks for help, but I really need it. I teach high school kids (math) and one of their projects involves separating two materials. One will float and the other material will not. They came up with pouring the materials into a water-filled cylinder and then having a middle piece that rotates via motor to separate the cylinder as a means of separating the two materials. It doesn't have to form a seal, as the materials are large. They, then, need to pump out the water and be able to remove the bottom of the cylinder to get the sunk materials out, and then rotate the middle separator again to get the top (previously floating) materials to fall out. I am trying to teach myself about circuits and electronics, but I am a super novice and am not learning at the pace required to be able to help them. So, I would appreciate any advice you can spare. Thanks!

Also... if you could write any responses as if you are speaking to a three-year-old who knows nothing about this stuff, it'd be appreciated.

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
Do you really require them to physically build this "device"?
Seems just as much mechanical as it does electrical..

Obviously water and electricity are never a good mix.. Especially when the "educator" is just as naive about it as the students you are protecting..

Maybe hand "straining" to remove the 2 materials is a better idea as far as safety and simplicity is concerned.. As is..while it is a fairly simple concept.... making a functional prototype is not a 1 day job..
I mean its a math class..... Who builds functional electro-mechanical devices in math class.. Thats what science class is for :) and even then the scope of the project you are detailing is quite a bit more than any science class I've ever had..
What ever happened to popsicle bridges and co2 drag cars ;)