Help: 'voltage leak?' within my 220-line or within my bandsaw?

shockedmonkey

Joined Dec 28, 2014
When I plug in my new 220V bandsaw - I feel serious 'tingling' if I touch the saw's table.
I'm told I have a 'voltage leak'? Is this what a 'voltage leak' feels like?

I just wired-up both the saw and the 220 outlet w/ help from a prior thread titled:
Help: Wiring 220 bandsaw: 2hots+ground, no 'white' ?

My first Conjecture: Things are wired-up correctly. My problem is a singed/damaged part of the 220-line.
When making the 220-wall outlet, re-purposing an old kitchen oven line I had in my crawlspace,
I had noticed that the metal cladding is singed-thru at a point in the run between my main panel and my outlet.

Observations:
My bandsaw runs. It may be running below full bore - unclear.
Tingling is present when bandsaw is off, didn't check if same tingling when machine's on.

I'm a novice - Does below approach make sense to test the 220-line as my first conjecture ? :
Get a volt-meter.
Test 1: Use the ground-wire of a nearby 110 outlet. With saw plugged in, put 1 probe on saw's table-top and other connected to 110-outlet's ground. I expect to register some voltage - verifying I have a problem.

Test 2: One-by-one, probe each of the 3 wires of the 220 line, again paired with the 110-outlet's ground.
I expect to see some voltage thru my 220-white to 110-outlet ground, when it shouldn't have any.
Then I'll know my problem is this 220-line. If no voltage, then my problem is within the saw.

There is no use in tests amongst the 3 wires of my 220V outlet: i.e. Red to White(ground), and the Black to White(ground). Correct?

If 220-line is my problem (and not the saw) - Then: I try cutting out the 'singed' part of the 220-line.

Thank you for guidance.

Attachments

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
I think you should check that the PE - protectione earth conductor is properly connected. That is if you are using a three pronged socket, otherwise the saw might be deffective.