help to design;two DC power source as one

apurvmj

Joined Sep 28, 2012
Hi there all,
I'm a newbie in circuits, I have unique requirement to have 12v, 100w DC power supply with 3v & 9v batteries, but without having them in series. I tried transistors but couldn't figured it out.
Will some one pls help me.
Thanks in advance.

apurvmj

Joined Sep 28, 2012
those box like rechargable batteries
& about non series connection just to understand 'Op amp' as experiment.
could someone reduce Op amp for this purpose. i guess there are aprrox. 20 transistors in op amp.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
You may be confused about what an op-amp does. It is NOT a way to create power. It is used to CONTROL the power supplied by a source such as a battery or power supply. A small amount of power is lost in the internal operation of the op-amp and by its associated circuit components. With good design, these losses are very small.

But the fact remains that ALL the power comes directly from the power supply and the op-amp does not increase that, only reduce it.

Does that help clarify? If not, we are having trouble understanding what you want to do with your op-amp.

apurvmj

Joined Sep 28, 2012
You may be confused about what an op-amp does. It is NOT a way to create power. It is used to CONTROL the power supplied by a source such as a battery or power supply. A small amount of power is lost in the internal operation of the op-amp and by its associated circuit components. With good design, these losses are very small.

But the fact remains that ALL the power comes directly from the power supply and the op-amp does not increase that, only reduce it.

Does that help clarify? If not, we are having trouble understanding what you want to do with your op-amp.
I know that Op-amp doesn't increase the power, what I want is V1+V2. I was thinking sort of component of Op-amp, as Op-amp has few multi-transistors component in side it.

# Dodgydave