Help SteamPunking a 360's LED's

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by RaiderBlaide, Jun 17, 2012.

1. RaiderBlaide

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 17, 2012
    Ok, I am relatively new to this circuits and soldering thing but for a start I am not doing too bad. I have got the disk drive set up on a toggle switch(serious accomplishment for me). However I have to flip the switch twice to get a response from the disk drive. I am moderately okay with that but what I want to do is change the player and the xbox on LED's to "mad scientist bulbs" which require much more power than an LED. What I would like to know is how I can up to power flow through those particular electrical connectors or if there is a way that I can use an external power source, say a computer power supply, while still having the lights cue on when appropriated by the xbox? Please if any of you have an idea of this feel free to email me at <SNIP>. Looking forward to your answers.:D

Also if you have a fix for the disk drive to toggle open and closed that would be nice. I feel like its something easy but im not sure.

FΔTƩ

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 17, 2012
  2. BMorse

Sep 26, 2009
    first off, the "disc drive" eject button is a momentary contact switch that is normally open, so if your toggle switch just closes the contacts and stays there then that is where your issue is, you can use a momentary/return to center toggle switch.

and what do you mean mad scientist bulbs? And what "lights" are you trying to mod? The front indicator LED's? Those are not always "on" the system actually pulses those at a certain frequency to make them seem lit all the time (same for the controller LED's, which is useful for modding it for rapid fire :) )

3. RaiderBlaide

Jun 17, 2012
    im assuming by momentary/return to center toggle switch you mean one that is basically just a button but it appears to be a toggle switch...?