Help Needed: Will this work?

viperstd

Joined Apr 2, 2008
Hi! My first post. I have spent a while digging around here since I was pretty stuck on how to make my project for a "reasonable" amount of money and I am completely new to electronics.

I programmed a 16F84A to make patterns and everything worked great up to there! However, I want to take the TTL from the PIC and use it to control some much higher load sources. I kept coming back to SSRs since I knew relays from cars, but they were very expensive and big. This is what I came up (thanks to the search function here!!! :D ):

1. Take the 5V TTL and put it into a TLP250 optocoupler (Toshiba Photocoupler) ~$1.90

2. Take the 10-15V DC from my power source (aka a car) and send it to an LM317 (national semiconductor adjustable regulator) ~$1.00

3. Use the current regulated out from the LM317 to my load (3 luxeon rebels in series) $5.00x3

I would like to know if this will work. Thank you in advance!

p.s. sorry about the napkin-esque drawing here and please be gentle, this is my first serious project and I slept through my only two EE classes about 5 years ago :S.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
I recognize the LM317 in constant current regulator mode. I've used it myself. One thing that jumps out though, are you really using .7A for those LEDs? That is a magnitude too big, LEDs need around 20ma to turn on entirely. That is 0.02 Amps, .07 would probaby be OK, but I don't think the LEDs in the circuit are long for this world. Figuring they drop about 2.5 Volts each they are probably disappating around 2W in the current setup, over 1 W if they drop 1.5 volts each. That is enough to burn your fingers if you touch them, definately not something LEDs should do. I'll have to look up the TLP250 shown before I know anything about it.

Those kind of circuits are always fun to play with, aren't they? Nothing wrong with the drawing, it is definately good enough.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
Hi Bill,
Welcome to the year 2008.