Help me understand the concept

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Mozee, Sep 16, 2016.

1. Mozee

Thread Starter Member

Jul 23, 2016
    FSS2PDMIE7J97GS.LARGE.jpg

Hello,
    I would Like to understand how does this work and why did the designer use these values (Formulas is possible)
    Let me start with my own and please note I'm still learning here so bear with me please :)

1-The first Op Amp from the left used in an Inverting input mode, I don't know why would we choose this mode if we want the input just to be amplified not changed in shape.
    2- I know that the amplification factor is Av=(R10+R11)/R9 so the input will be multiplied by Av and yields the output at pin10 but what if I want to use the non Inverting input? also why those values were used why not using1K for R9 and 1K for R10 and 10k for R11(Note a Double power source is used for -Ve voltage and +Ve voltage)
    3-What is the configuration of the second Op amp?
    4-Why R12 was used? is it really needed?

Thanks in advance
    M.zee

2. kubeek

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 20, 2005
    1)inverting or non-inverting the shape stays the same, only the polarity is switched. This does not matter if you do the same thing with both R and L audio channels.
    2) not sure why you´d want to use the non-inverting input, but you´d have to change the configuration into a non-inverting amplifier, and the rest would be basically identical.
    They choose R9=10k, because that is the load that is presented to device that drives this circuit, and it is kind of a standard load impedance in consumer audio.