Help me choose right board for my project. Arduino maybe?

tschoni

Joined May 12, 2011
Hi everyone!

New to this forum and plan to hang around here a lot over the next 4 months :)

Working on a project to integrate additional functionality in an already existing system. To do so I will add an additional microprocessor to the system.

Help me choose the right thing.
The "boundary" conditions are:

Connectivity:
2x RS232 Serial, one to communicate with another uController, one to receive signals from a GPS controller.
1x Ethernet: to communicate with a PC.

Documentation:
Good documentation and sample code a must because I'm a newbie and will require loads of help sources.

Toughness:
Thing will have be sitting on a vehicle with 2-stroke gasoline engine. So a bit of vibration should not make it crumble to pieces.

Processing power:
I will implement different "feedback-control" stuff on it. It's nothing crazy fast or complex ... don't really know how to specify this more precisely.

So ... what hardware did you guys have good experiences with which can get my job done? I was snooping around a little and from what I hear I like the Arduino platform quite a lot, i.e. the Arduino Mega 2560. However, I'm unsure about the connectiviy issues.
There is a widely available ethernet shield but not so sure about the RS232.What can you tell me about this?

Any other options?

Thanks for any help in advance.

J

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
This bit:
Toughness:
Thing will have be sitting on a vehicle with 2-stroke gasoline engine.
...might be a thread-closer. This is a forum for beginners, and recently automotive topics have been placed in the "off-limits" category.

At the minimum, you'd need to choose a uC that was rated for automotive environments, as temperatures can go to extremes.

But, we'll need to wait for a Moderator to weigh in on this. In the meantime, describe more fully what you mean by the section that I quoted.

[eta]