help in understanding gerber data for PCb design

payal.kellyyy

Joined Mar 28, 2011
hiii,
actually I am new to this electronics forum I dont know how to create a new post ...so i feel this is the right thread where I can post my query

Guys please be simple in ur explaining since I am really new to PCB designing

I have this query:

enclosed you find the data format which we need for PCB assembling.

PCB data:
Extended Gerber, 274 X
Absolute position, Unit mm; numeric format xxxx.xxxx
For solder paste and outline

Assembling Data:
component description Housing Value X-Position Y-Position Rotation (separated with Tab)
for example: C1 0603 10nF 10.35 -12.35 135

In this PCB data what does this Extended Gerber 274X means....also for assembly data my manufacturer requires in following format how to make this data since this data cannot be generated in Gerber...do I need to ask reference point ?i am using Orcad 9 for PCb designing I need urgent help on this ...kindly help me out.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Gerber 274X means the "aperture" data is also stored in the data file.

Apertures? Gerber files consist of commands to take a shape (aperture) and move it. If you take a circle and sweep it you get a trace land, with nice rounded corners. Those shapes are the apertures and the "X" saves them where they are needed.

To make these files you have to adjust your PCB program to give them to you. If you are not using a PCB program then you have to convert to gerber format; we used to convert autocad files to gerbers.

Gerber files are actually just text files, you can open them up in notepad and see what's there.

debjit625

Joined Apr 17, 2010
All about gerber : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gerber_format

what does this Extended Gerber 274X means
Its a file format that is used by PCB manufacturer to make your PCB.