[HELP] How to choose the right PIC for my project

zell12

Joined Jul 15, 2010
I have this project to build a home security system (blocking sensors, password doors, etc) w/ all those logics, but, you see, im a real noobie to microcontrollers,

can someone provide some considerations to take when choosing pic

please take me lightly, i might not be able to understand such intermediate terms, im just starting out my research

or if anybody here kind enough to provide basic tutorials about pic

thank you in advance! have a nice day!

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
You may want a more modular solution, such as a microcontroller at each sensor, all communicating to the "overseeing" controller. PICs are under $1 each for 8 pin devices to do a simple to moderate task.

Security systems get very complex quickly. Many tricks are used, such as measuring line capacitance and other features to ensure somebody didn't "jumper across" a switch. Communications need to happen to verify doors are locked, sensors are working, etc.

I'd strongly suggest getting the PicKit 3 Debug Express, or a PicKit 2 or 3 and a demo board from the EAsyPIC series or the generic QL200 boards off eBay. From there, you learn the language, as well as what can and cannot be done with them.

It's a great hobby, and if you have a background in electronics, you can be on your way to making "sci-fi" level projects within a month (with patience).

So, in order:
1) order a PIC Starter kit, make sure it has a real PicKit 2 or PicKit 3 programmer (The latter saves a ton of headaches). Find something in your budget range, this will be used over and over for different ideas.

2) Define the system you'd like for security. Would you buy modules for glass breakage, passive IR, and reed switches, or build them? Have you looked at the latest technology in alarm systems? (Many burglars have...)

3) Ask questions, here, and have fun with it! It may seem daunting at first, but it all falls together if you hang with it.