Help for usb communincation

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by greenofboy, Apr 7, 2012.

1. greenofboy

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 15, 2012
    Hello
    I'm an engineer student and i'm working on a project that consist to measure all kinds of electrical signals , it is a numeric oscilloscope linked with computer by USB port.
    Currently i'm on realization step and i found some problems concerning the device PIC 18F4550.
    I'll try to explain my problems as clear as possible and i hope i'll get an answer.

Normaly, electrical signals will be shown in GUI(graphical user interface) made by C++ which detect PIC as RS232.
    That's why i used CDC framework to convert acquired data from USB port to RS232 .
    then driver installation is acquired so i install CDC RS232 emulation demo given by Microship.
    but my computer detects troubles that you can see in the pictures below .

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Is the problem linked to the driver or to the setting of the HEX file compiled by MPLAB C18 ?

Looking forward to hearing from you .
    Thank you

2. panic mode

Oct 10, 2011
    has nothing to do with mplab, either your driver is not correct one or there is a resource conflict.

3. be80be

Jul 5, 2008
    It's none of the above your chip is not working long enough to load the driver most times it's a bad cable coming from the usb or the worng cap on VUSB

4. BillO

Nov 24, 2008
    Hmm..

The only thing mentioned that it could not have anything to do with is the HEX file. It could indeed be the driver, the cable, a resource conflict or even the host adapter on the PC. Did you try a different USB port? Could be that too.

If checking all those does not resolve the issue, you may need to update the MB BIOS on your PC or the souhtbridge drivers in the OS.

5. ErnieM

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 24, 2011