Help for complete beginner doing simplest thing ever

xstackx

Joined May 27, 2009
Hello, this is very low level stuff but help would be appreciated so I can tell the guy in Maplin he's being an arsehole.

So, I'd like to build a simple circuit to power two flashing LEDs.
I went to Maplin and was told the only way would be to buy two battery packs and power each LED individually. This seemed ridiculous but he did speak with some confidence.

What I was going to do was just buy a 9v battery, wire it to 2 LEDs (the ones with built in resistance) in circuit. then that'd be it. That would do right?

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
You definitely don't need two battery packs. If you have an LED module that is designed to provide a flashing LED when connected to a 9V DC power source, then you are done - just wire two of them in parallel. Depending on what you are doing, you might want some kind of a switch, but maybe connecting/disconnecting the battery is fine.

It sounds like your "Maplin" is a lot like our "Radio Shack" (or at least like it was up until maybe ten years ago, when they gave up most of any pretence of being anything but a place to buy consumer electronics). I always got a laugh out of their slogan: "You have questions. We have answers." It seemed, somehow, incomplete without being followed by, "Most of them are wrong, but we have them."

Last edited:

xstackx

Joined May 27, 2009
Brilliant, thanks very much. I suppose it's too much to hope that anybody would hire staff that new what they were talking about.

Thanks again.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
For the most part, yes, it's hoping for too much. It's a shame that it's that way, but it is.