Help edit my Temperature sensor circuit

paddyhughes086

Joined Jan 30, 2011
Hi I work in a school and we do go in training but it is very basic Electronics. We were given a circuit that was a temperature sensor that could be built 2 ways with an end result of a led lighting up.
The issue is we need to have the last circuit that’s highlighted in yellow on the image attached run a fan and not a led when the thermisitor heats up the power goes normally to the led on the circuit we supply 9v into the circuit but the power come out were the led is connected is around 2.3v as any hire would burn out the led we need to have a minimum of 4v if not more come out at this point could any one suggest a few alterations to are project please thanks

Attachments

tracecom

Joined Apr 16, 2010
You misunderstand the LED circuit. The LED is a current controlled device, not voltage controlled. The 470 ohm resistor in series with the LED limits the current to a certain amount (generally 20 mA or less).

In order to run a motor, you may need to change the value of the 470 ohm resistor or eliminate it entirely. This depends upon the voltage you are using to power the circuit (which must be within the fan's acceptable range) and the current required by the fan. Also, you must consider the current available through the transistor.

So, state the voltage you are using to power the circuit, the voltage and current requirement of the fan, and the number of the transistor you are using, and you will get more help.

Never mind about the transistor number; I see from the parts list it is a BC548...correct?

paddyhughes086

Joined Jan 30, 2011
You misunderstand the LED circuit. The LED is a current controlled device, not voltage controlled. The 470 ohm resistor in series with the LED limits the current to a certain amount (generally 20 mA or less).