Help: Driving a 5 inches 7 segment display

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by abo0badr, Apr 25, 2013.

1. abo0badr

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 27, 2012
    Good morning guys,
    I had finished a small project for car racing, in that Project I have a timer displaying the running time for each lap, I am currently using the small 7-segment displays which is powered up by 5 volts only. This was for testing purposed only (or lets say a miniature only).

Now I have to convert everything into semi-industrial type of equipment. So I have decided to use a 5 inches or 6 inches common anode 7-segment display to display the time.
    My only problem is how am I going to do it as I am a newbie to bigger 7-segment displays.

I am already using a 74LS47 (BCD-To-7Segment Decoder) and a simple 2n2222A to drive each multiplexed display using 5volts.

I already new that the bigger 7 segment displays requires around 12 to 15 volts (based on 4 to 6 inches displays).

My question is what should be the replacement parts for the BCD-To-7Segment Decoder and the 2n2222A Transistor?
    Any help will be much appreciated. Thank you​

2. elec_mech

Nov 12, 2008
    Are you really multiplexing with the 74LS47? Are you using a microcontroller to do this or something else? A schematic would be a great help.

I suggest looking at the ULN2003 or ULN2803. These can be driven by the 74LS47 and provide up to 50V, 500mA to a 7-segment display.

Are you planning to make your own displays from LEDs or will you buy them premade?

3. Dodgydave

Distinguished Member

Jun 22, 2012
    Are you using common cathode for the small display, but want to use common anode for the larger display?

A diagram would help us further.

if so you need to feed the outputs of the 74ls47 into an inverter ic like the cd4069,
    http://eeshop.unl.edu/pdf/CD4069UBC.pdf