help determining unusual 555 astable component values

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by tonkatoy, Jan 25, 2015.

1. tonkatoy

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 25, 2015
    Hello all--
    I need to power the electromagnetic clutch on my garden tractor intermittently. I would like to have approximately 5 to 10 seconds of "ON" time, preferably adjustable within that range, with an adjustable "OFF" time of from 5 to up to 10 minutes. It appears that a circuit like this: http://www.doctronics.co.uk/Images_swf/p555_exdca.swf
    is almost exactly what I need.
    Can both R1 and R2 be replaced by potentiometers? (I would assume so).
    I am having trouble selecting the proper values for R1, R2 and C1 to get the time ranges I'm looking for...this is a much lower frequency (I think that's the term to use) than what common examples of this circuit show. I am a machinist by trade, I know just enough about electronics to be dangerous. This can't be that hard of a circuit, I just need a little help to get me going in the right direction.

2. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    A 555 will give the short period but getting 5 to 10 minutes is problematic.
    A digital counter timer would work better for that such as this.
    You can use this long timer to trigger the 555 to give the short interval.

3. tonkatoy

Jan 25, 2015
    Crutschow--
    Thanks so much for the tip! Still a simple enough circuit that I think I can handle it...and elegant.