Help creating a DIY Scoreboard

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by norbie, Jan 16, 2015.

1. norbie

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 16, 2015
    Hi all

I'm a newbie here and although I have a lot of experience in IT/Computer Programming when it comes to micro electronics I'm quite a beginner!

I've seen a project online that I would really like to replicate for my sports team. The problem being that the parts are no longer available, at least not in the UK anyway where I am based.

It's a wireless electronic scoreboard which features 2 x 2 digit up/down/reset counters with large LED displays, and a remote control:

http://perfectmancave.com/forum/showthread.php?p=397621#post397621

Photo of wiring:

[​IMG]

Schematic:

[​IMG]

The schematic is something I can understand as it uses pre-assembled parts. I have found exactly the same remote control which is handy, but I can't find anything pre-assembled for the 2 digit up/down/reset counters here in the UK.

It can't be that hard to build one can it... ?

There is a kit in the US available but that's no good to me here in the UK - http://vakits.com/large-led-updown-counter-display-kit-4192

The components on this seem simple enough and I'm sure I can get hold of them, but I have no idea exactly what parts, and how I might program it (numbers - up / down / reset) when they're all put together?

[​IMG]

Is anybody able to assist me in sourcing the right parts to assemble and program one of these?

Many thanks in advance.

2. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
  3. norbie

Jan 16, 2015
    Thank you I'll take a look. Do you know if there is a variant in there that counts up & down from pulses though? That looks to be an automatic countdown from what I can see.

This looks very relevant http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/threads/creating-an-electronic-scoreboard.92859/

I'd need a more detailed shopping list & schematic if I've ever a chance of creating one myself though :(

4. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009