Help connecting RN 171 module

UTLtech

Joined Sep 7, 2011
Good evening forum.

First off I just came across this fantastic tool, that shows you how many threads there are that are similar to what I just typed as the title for this thread. very handy ( I am going to drop punctuation for now, sorry )

My problem arises from the RN 171 WiFly module made by Roving Networks.

I am new to the field of electronics. So please bear with me. i ASSURE you that I am a fast learner. I will not be taking much of your precious time.

I recently acquired 4 RN 171 modules from Roving Networks. But I am at a total loss at how to use it. What I mean is the pins.

Is it a surface mount device? Must the device be mounted on a PCB or can I somehow (after some alteration obviously) mount it on a breadboard/ general board.

My main aim is to send binary data from a laptop to this chip. The received data sequence will be checked by a strobe for sequence only.

Please let me know how in the world do I get to use this.
Please do not tell me to buy another chip as it will make me feel like a fool for spending so much on these modules ( as I know I am a fool :p )

If you desire any further data from me, please feel free to ask.

Humbly,
Vikram

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Welcome to the Forums.

The datasheet for the RN-171 is available here:
http://www.rovingnetworks.com/documents/rn-171-ds.pdf

Is it a surface mount device?
Yes, it is.
Must the device be mounted on a PCB
Yes. The recommended layout is in the datasheet on page 7; antenna requirements on page 8. However, I question the spec for the RF shield; it's indicated as 130 mils thick; 1 Oz copper is 1.4 mils, so their spec is ~93x as thick. I'm thinking that is a typographical error? You should contact the manufacturer about it.
... or can I somehow (after some alteration obviously) mount it on a breadboard/ general board.