Help building a h-bridge for a stepper motor

Zapnologica

Joined Jun 15, 2012
Hello guys,

I am new to electronics i have been playing around with them for some time.

I have recently started up a new project, i want to build a cnc router.

I have build a h bridge on a bread board and that seemed to work. But now i have build one onto proto board and i am having some trouble.

I am using tip-122 (npn) and tip-127 (pnp),

here is the schematic that i based my design on.

http://www.pocketmagic.net/wp-content/uploads/2009/03/hbridge-radu1.jpg

For a stepper motor i needed two of these h-bridges for each motor as each h-bridge controls a coil. (im using bi-polar steppers). the control signals (input) comes from an arduino.

The problem that i am having with my 1st attempt is that when i put in my power source (for the h bridge) even 5v now to test, the transistors are getting warm.. and i cant find out why?? (even with no motors or inputs connected).

I left out the diodes from the schematic as i thought they are for dc motors which might spin and cause feed back power, but that shouldnt happen with steppers? are these necessary?

Only thing that i can think of is that both the halves of the h bridge are "enabled" and power is shorting directly from the pnp to the npn. ( even with no motor connected)

Could this maybe be from the smaller transistors picking up voltage and enabling the 4 tip-122 and tip-127 transistors??

Please if any one could give me some assistance, I dono if the info i have given is sufficient, but it will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Last edited:

colinb

Joined Jun 15, 2011
I would say first measure the current through various paths to see where the heat is coming from. As you say, it could be a short from high to low side, but if the motor is not connected, that would require an explicit short somewhere.