Help a beginner at lpf

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by André Ferrato, Jun 10, 2015.

1. André Ferrato

Thread Starter Member

Apr 5, 2015
    Hi, i am studying low pass filters with purpose of learning how to bypass undesired signals to the ground and a few things are troubling my mind:

First, there is an equation that determines the output voltage of a LPF, is this output voltage fixed or it oscillates between some values ? What values would it be ? Another thing that i didn't understood was when a signal with a much higher frequency is feed to the LPF, the output will have the same frequency or another value ? Which would it be ? Because the way i am thinking of it, i can set like a 1Hz cutoff frequency to get a nearly perfect DC output. Can someone enlight me at the working theory of the LPF please ? :(

The output voltage equation:
    IMG_20150610_225637561.jpg

Also when we put a reservoir cap and a low pass filter together we're aiming for a better constant output voltage right ? I saw some filters with 3 or 4 LPF attached to a reservoir cap. I learned some equations while studying about rc ripple filters and lpf, but when i see them together i don't know how use these equations, if someone could help me in this matter

Reservoir cap - LPF attached and equations.
    IMG_20150610_225753654.jpg
    I forgot to put the ripple factor there.

Finally, i found out a formula that is different from those i have now, it uses conduction angles in the calculation. I would like to now if someone here knows how to derive it or has ever used this formula

Ripple advanced equation
    IMG_20150610_231147606.jpg

2. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    The first equation you show is only good at a single frequency of oscillation of the input voltage and the output voltage will be oscillating at that same frequency.