Hello... Can I do this...?

Pane77

Joined May 25, 2014
I am new to electronics but I do fix appliances to earn $$ on the side which is why I'd like to take this up to the next level. I come across customers who need their PCB or PCBs repaired. I've been successful with many but I have no way of testing them other than to re install back into appliance (refridge, dryer, washer, etc...). Do I need a power supply and if so, how does one test a PCB with it? I Probably can't do so which leads me to asking ya all "what can I use?" Thanks in advance for everyone's help!!!!!

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
There is not simple answer to your question.
Every appliance is different. It depends on the specific appliance.
One solution is to have another appliance that is in working order which allows you to swap boards as well as to compare voltages.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
To test a board you need a detailed listing of all the inputs and outputs, and the board operating characteristics and functions. Since that information is normally not obtainable, the best test is usually to put it back in the appliance and see if it works, as you have been doing.

atferrari

Joined Jan 6, 2004
To test a board you need a detailed listing of all the inputs and outputs, and the board operating characteristics and functions. Since that information is normally not obtainable, the best test is usually to put it back in the appliance and see if it works, as you have been doing.
Even insiders seem to have access to service manuals that do not go into many details nowadays.

Last I checked were service manuals of Epson printers. Recent ones stop at board level.

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
Even insiders seem to have access to service manuals that do not go into many details nowadays.

Last I checked were service manuals of Epson printers. Recent ones stop at board level.