Heatsink for the TDA2050

Booocubs

Joined Dec 11, 2011
What heatsink do I need for the TDA2050? I've asked around but people just told me to look in the datasheet and There's a graph showing different ones.

http://www.datasheetcatalog.org/datasheet/SGSThomsonMicroelectronics/mXyuqt.pdf (Page 10 is the graph)

That's the link to the datasheet. I'm not sure what heatsink to get; I've never used heatsink's before and I'm really confused.
I will be using this circuit, shown to me by AudioGuru;

http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=39870&d=1329188922
Except I will be powering 36 Bright Blue LED's, in group's of three, with a 100ohm resistor in front of each group.

bountyhunter

Joined Sep 7, 2009
You have to know your max power dissipation and then go shopping for a heatsink (AAVID, thermalloy, wakefield, etc).

Example: suppose max power dissipation is 10W. Thermal resistance junction-case for the TO-220 device is 3C/W. Add 1C/W for the insulator mounting it to the haetsink. That uses up 4C/W. Assume maximum allowable junction temp is 125 and ambient is 25C, you can tolerate 100C rise above ambient from 10W power. This means the TOTAL thermal resistance is 10C/W allowed. Since 4C/W is already used up, your heatsink must be 6C/W OR LESS thermal resistance. The data sheets on heatsinks give the data to calculate this value.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
Why didn't you continue your thread about your circuit?

I assume you are using a 12.0V supply and I assume that your blue LEDs have a forward voltage of 3.3V each. Then their current is (12V - 9.9V)/100 ohms = 21mA.

36 LEDs are in 12 strings and their total current is 252mA which is not much.