HDMI over ethernet

dadane

Joined Jan 5, 2015
I have no knowledge of the spec for HDMI so was hoping someone here might.

As far as I can tell all video and audio data is transmitted using the four differential TDMS 0/1/2/CLK signal pairs. So is it possible to distribute using only these signals or will the receiving device refuse to accept it if, say, the DDC channel is missing. Basically, am I snookered by DRM?

HDMI cables don't come cheap, and the point of this exercise is to do it the cheapest possible way, so I thought I'd find out if this is a dead duck before I start chopping.

PS. Yes, I know I can buy devices to do this but where is the fun in that :) Plus they are about 5 times the price here they are in the US or UK.

PPS. The runs are quite short but probably not short enough, so I do realise that a TX driver and RX buffer may be required. I'll cross that bridge when I come to it (maybe come up with something to utilise the batch of RS485 line drivers currently gathering dust and cobwebs in the shed.)

dadane

Joined Jan 5, 2015
Trying to get about 20' - 30' through one floor and two walls. Laying in a CAT6 cable anyway because a) I've got some spare and b) I'm in the middle of wiring up mains and RF on that route so might as well build in redundancy. Not sure a prefab cable will help. Thanks, Dave.

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
You theoretically should be able to use normal ethernet cable (or two to get around the drm issues), but frankly I´d rather buy the ready made cable then do all the hassle with wiring the tiny connectors to an unwieldy cable.

Brownout

Joined Jan 10, 2012
Trying to get about 20' - 30' through one floor and two walls.