having trouble finding these schematic symbols...

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by Schematic unknown, Jan 12, 2014.

1. Schematic unknown

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 12, 2014
    I am studying for a test and I am having a hard time finding what symbols C, H, K and L are. I have found a few symbols for motor and generator that are similar to C but I can't be sure. If anyone has any info I am grateful! 20140112_174341.jpg

2. DerStrom8

Feb 20, 2011
    C should have more markings. You are correct, it has the same shape as both a motor AND a generator. Might want to speak with your teacher about that. H is an older one that I haven't seen in years. I'm hesitant to give you the answer though. How do I know you're not doing homework, or even taking the test now?

Can't say I've ever seen K, but you should definitely know L.

EDIT: I take that back about L. I don't see how it's different from a standard resistor....

3. Schematic unknown

Jan 12, 2014
    Well, the test is for a job and I dont take it until Thursday at a testing center, and so I also dont have a teacher to consult :(. I'm just working with a study guide and a textbook, electricity principles and applications by fowler 5th edition.

4. DerStrom8

Feb 20, 2011
    Okay, fair enough.

Once again, C should have more markings. Usually it would have a "M" inside the circle for a motor or a "G" for a generator. I have also seen some meters shown that way, with a "V", "A", or "Ω" depending on whether it's a voltmeter, ammeter, or ohmmeter.

H is a lamp, usually an incandescent light bulb.

Again, I have never seen K before, and L looks like just another resistor to me. Not sure why there's two of them. Perhaps one is wire-wound and one is carbon-film? Just guessing here, don't take my word for it.

5. KJ6EAD

Apr 30, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2014
  6. Schematic unknown

Jan 12, 2014
    Thanks for the info guys! Adding it all to the que for study

7. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013