Hardware Simulator

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by jjimenez01, Mar 30, 2007.

  1. jjimenez01

    Thread Starter Member

    Dec 8, 2006
    14
    0
    Hello all,

    Ok so what exaclty is a Hardware simulator, and what is it's purpose?

    I am guessing that it is software where you can write code and test it as if you were actually downloading it into a processor and be able to monitor I/O pins etc. Am I in the right track here? Thanks
     
  2. beenthere

    Retired Moderator

    Apr 20, 2004
    15,815
    282
    Definitions vary - the last ones I messed with were aircraft simulators. The P3C Orion was best, as we always dropped nuclear torpedoes on the Russian subs.
     
  3. Papabravo

    Expert

    Feb 24, 2006
    10,140
    1,789
    It is a piece of hardware that behaves like a processor, and you can probe the internals. They are implemented with either discrete circuits, or so-called "bond-out" chips. The idea is to be able to laod and debug programs that would otherwise be in on-chip ROM memory.
     
  4. jjimenez01

    Thread Starter Member

    Dec 8, 2006
    14
    0
    Ok let me be a little more clear with my question and why I am asking this. I want to delve more into the world of embedded programming using different microcontrollers that I have not touched before, specifically the 8051. As I researched books on the topic, I saw one on Amazon and one of it's description is as follows:

    "The Keil hardware simulator for the popular 8051 microcontroller is on the CD-ROM so that readers can try out examples from the book - and create new ones - without requiring additional hardware."

    What does the Keil hardware simulator provide me with? Thanks
     
  5. Papabravo

    Expert

    Feb 24, 2006
    10,140
    1,789
    Like most ambiguous phrases, the details really matter. In this case I believe Keil has written a piece of software, distributed on CD-ROM, which will simulate the execution of an 8051. I'd be interested to know if it can simulate external inputs and outputs as well.
     
  6. jjimenez01

    Thread Starter Member

    Dec 8, 2006
    14
    0
    Yeah, that is what it think also. Actually that is what I am hoping. So that I will not have to buy a an actual eval board.
     
  7. khpceng

    New Member

    Mar 24, 2007
    2
    0
    AAC does not support 'cracks' for proprietary software. If you want a fully working copy of a paid-for application buy it.
     
  8. psihodelia

    Member

    Aug 7, 2006
    23
    1
    If you mean Digital Logic, than you need to read more about Hardware Description Languages. You can describe your Hardware and make Simulation.
     
  9. Papabravo

    Expert

    Feb 24, 2006
    10,140
    1,789
    Where do you get off thinking that's what the OP wanted? He simply asked for an interpretation of Keil's marketing bumpf!
     
  10. Papabravo

    Expert

    Feb 24, 2006
    10,140
    1,789
    I don't get the impression that we wants to simulate the design of an 8051. I think he wants to see what the code looks like for a typical application.
     
  11. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    144
    Papabravo,

    That was my edit, since khpceng posted a slightly related request for a crack for a proprietary package. (Note the edit notice at the bottom of the post).

    Dave
     
  12. Papabravo

    Expert

    Feb 24, 2006
    10,140
    1,789
    Excuse me, but I can see no evidence of your edit or that intent in the original post by jjimenez01. I thought khpceng was admonishing the OP that AAC does not support 'that' activity. I failed to read the fine print.
     
  13. thingmaker3

    Retired Moderator

    May 16, 2005
    5,072
    6
    Had nothing to do with jjimenez01, but with khpceng. Post #7 was edited by Dave becuase post #7 contained inappropriate content.
     
  14. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    144
    Without taking this off topic you should see the edit message at the bottom of khpceng's post indicating my edit of that post:

    khpceng Post.jpg

    If not, it would be interesting to know so I can find out why.

    Dave
     
  15. Papabravo

    Expert

    Feb 24, 2006
    10,140
    1,789
    As I said "I failed to read the fine print" of Dave's edit. I can see it now, but I missed it the first time. I thought Dave's edit was khpceng speaking about the OP. If I made that mistake I'm sure others may have also. I said "excuse me" -- what more do you two want? Do we really need to belabor the point further?
     
  16. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    144
    You can see the edit statement and your correction is acknowledged. This is the end of the matter. Further discussion on this (if any is required) should be over PM.

    Dave
     
Loading...