Handheld heating device

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Christina Ahn Cheeta, Sep 14, 2015.

1. Christina Ahn Cheeta

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 14, 2015
    Looking for advice building a handheld heating element that uses nichrome wire. The nichrome wire will wrap around an aluminum bottle which can heat 3oz of coconut oil inside to 100 degrees F.

I've been trying to find some circuit designs by looking at vaporizers, electric water boilers and curling irons, but I am totally new to electronics and totally at lost on where to start :/ I would love any advice to point me in the right direction. Right now I'm looking at 123D circuits and Arduino for micro controllers.

This device needs:
    • Heating element that can warm contents 3oz of coconut oil to
    • On/off switch
    • Ni-chrome resistor
    • Bimetallic thermal switch to shut off heating at a certain temperature
    • Power source-battery

Nov 30, 2010
    Here's the thermodynamic part. Your average low temperature is 57 degrees in January. You will need 2.36 watt hours to heat the oil. A square 9 volt battery contains 4 watt hours. If you use a small container, you could do this by exhausting one 9V battery. An alkaline D Cell would work, too.

That leaves the heating element, the thermostat, and the switch.
  3. BReeves

Nov 24, 2012
    This thread kinda makes me wish I lived in San Francisco.
    #12 likes this.
  4. wayneh

Sep 9, 2010
    I know you said you want to use electricity as your heat source, but for 100°F you should consider chemical energy. There are already self-heating soup cans and such, and you might be able to re-task those hot pads they sell for aches and pains, or the kind used for keeping your hands warm. A solution using these would be far simpler than a 100°F micro-oven. The hot pads, at least, are rechargeable (you cook them in a microwave).