Hamster elevator

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by elektrowlad, Sep 26, 2010.

1. elektrowlad

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 26, 2010
    Hy guys,

I decided to buy a hamster and I want to make him a really nice home, with a suspended house that he can only reach with an elevator.

The idea is a cabin with a pressure pad, when he gets on, it takes him up. I want it to either :

1. Stay there for about 10 seconds after which the cabin descends back ( because i want him to have a slide to come down)

2 Stay up and after being depressed and then pressed (hamster gets off and back on) the cabin takes him down and the process starts over again.

I am using a servo to move the cabin up and down, i have everything i need but i'm not really good with electronics, just mechanics. A system of switches and cables to reverse the motor would be far too complicated to assemble and definitely not chewproof.
    What i need is a simple (i guess it's simple) circuit hooked up to the pressure pad that when activated, alternately moves it up and down (reversing polarity or something like that).

The cabin will stay in place when it's up using a spring latch or something like that, i have the idea in mind

Any ideas ?

Thanks in advance,

Vlad

2. elektrowlad

Sep 26, 2010
    Oooh i forgot to mention, the other similar threads didn't help me too much, what i need is much simpler

3. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    Well, not to throw water but if you want SIMPLE have you considered using a rung LADDER instead, to let the little fellow elevate himself? Hamsters LIKE to climb, probably more than they like riding an elevator.