Halogen Torcherie Wiring and Supply issue

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by bearcat22, Mar 11, 2013.

1. bearcat22

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 11, 2013
    Thank you for reading my message. I am a novice at lamp repair. I own a secondhand halogen torcherie that I would like to fix. There is very little information on the lamp. The base is stamped "PAF studio DUNA Design Mario Barbaglia Marco Colombo Milan Mad in Italy"

The ferrule surrounding the ceramic that goes around the contact is stamped "DMT-020-6/250" The "D" might be an "O"

I believe the contacts are so badly corroded/burned/worn that this is causing the light to keep turning off. I'd like to replace the contacts, but they appear to be integral to the wires. If I can crimp on new contacts, or just replace the whole wire-and-contact assembly, that would be great.

Can you suggest what I would need to buy, and from where? Thank you.

PS, yes I am aware that these lamps are extraordinarily dangerous and can start fires. If there were something safer that would put 300 watts of sunlight bounced off my ceiling, at an affordable price, I'd use that instead. I live on $900 a month social security. Thank you.

2. mcgyvr

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 15, 2009
    Got a picture of the socket/contacts?
    Can you just clean them with some steel wool/sandpaper/contact cleaner?
    Have you checked the resistance from contact to where the wire attaches to line voltage?

Not sure what country you are in but 500W halogen shop lights are very cheap in the US. (like $15)

3. bearcat22

Mar 11, 2013
    Thank you mcgyvr.

My digital camera does not seem able to focus well enough to give a clear picture of the contacts. pic posted.

Yes, I probably could polish the contacts with steel wool, but prefer to start fresh if I can.
    They are pretty worn down.

I have no electrical tools at all, and no knowledge of how to use any.

4. mcgyvr

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 15, 2009
    got a "macro" setting on your camera

5. mcgyvr