Hall Effect switch logic output

mkenney

Joined Feb 14, 2009
Hi all. I'm a newbie and recently found this forum. I really tried to search on my issue and was unable to find a solution. Here is my issue:

I'm trying to use a Hall effect switch (US5881) as a home/limit switch on my mini-milling machine that I recently converted to CNC. The input voltage is 5 volts and with the 10k pull-up resistor connected per the 12.1 wiring diagram. What I'm seeing on the output side is .535 Volts when on and .022 Volts when the magnet is close enough to trigger the switch. From what I understand from the break out board that I'm using is that off is .8 Volts or leass and on is 2-5 Volts. I tried decreasing the size of the pull up resitor and ended up frying the hall effect switch.

I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong as it seems like a lot of people are getting this to work with just a 1k pull up resistor and nothing else (i.e. the capictor's) that I'm using.

I hope I'm posting the info needed for someone to help me out if willing.

Thanks in advance and great to see such a great resource for electronics on the web!

Mark [mkenney]

Attachments

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
From the data sheet, I can't see why you're having a problem. 5 volts is inside the limits for supply voltages. I wonder, though, if you might have some stray magnetism around. Can you wire up a spare to ground and +5 at some distance from the mill and check operation with the 10K pullup resistor? All you need is a magnet and a meter. The output should be +5 away from the magnet, and 0 volts when the magnet gets close.

If the sensor works away from the mill, move it where you intend to mount it, and see if the sensor still works. If you have got it close to an existing magnet, like one of the stepper motors, then it may be in saturation all the time - at least that is what it sounds like.

mkenney

Joined Feb 14, 2009