hall effect signal on to 7seg display

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by ralphh85, Aug 29, 2007.

1. ralphh85

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 29, 2007
    hello im new here! hopefully someone on here can help me!

basically im tryign to bring up a number on a few 7 segment led displays dependent on the amount of pulses per min which come from a hall effect sensor.

i believe i will have to convert the hall effect signal to an analog dc voltage then put this in tot he LED display.

but where do i start? i have little electronics knowledge and dont have time to go back an do my A level!!

any ideas?

2. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    You can get Hall effect sensors that have a digital output level. Apply the pulses to a counter chain, with a display showing the accumulated number.
  3. mrmeval

Distinguished Member

Jun 30, 2006
    A digital output can be done with a "hall effect switch"

If you are not constrained as to how you count them or output them look at something like a pic, atmega, picaxe or other microcontroller solution.

I like this http://www.arduino.cc but there will be an investment in learning it and then having it read the sensor and then output to a display of some sort.
  4. ralphh85

Aug 29, 2007
    well what im actually doing is...

i have an old metro which has real fast engine (143bhp vvc engine) and also a carPC. windows based small mini itx pc used for playing music mostly.

i want to remove my instrument cluster (speedo/rev counter/water temp/ etc etc) and replace it with a set of digi dials which i would really like to make myself as would be a good project!

the speedo sensor which i can put in (from a rover 200 or similar) is just a hall effect sensor and it gives out 4 pulses per revolution.

so i have the output i just need to bring it in and show up XXXmph.

i am totally open to ways of doing it with no restrictions, most of what was said/the pages i just viewed kinda went over my head!