Hack a lownmower

chaos51

Joined Jun 18, 2011
Hi,

This is just a general brainstorming. I'm not sure I'll do it, it all depends on how complex it gets, and how destructive it gets for the Lawnmower in question.

Anyway, I got my hands on an robot-mower of exotic make (there is no make visible anywhere AFAIK), and got permission (and encouragement) to "hack" it from the owner. As it's native program is pretty crap, it always looses track of it's "virtual" wires.

Anyway, I have no idea if I can pull it off, but I love to give it a try :), mostly for fun, if it cuts grass afterwards, well , that's a bonus.

What I like to try is to see, if i can replace the program in the lawnmower with a homebrew program. Mostly as a fun/learning kind of thing. I don't want to destroy the mower, but I was explicitly told, if that happens, well, no biggy.

I have experience with PIC and AVR programming, so I know how to work with MCU's, allthough I am by no means an expert.

I opened the case, and it contains a STC5410AD microcontroller on a circuitboard, in a lqfp-32 socket.

Now this is the thing I am trying to figure out. I see 3 options.

1. Get a programmer for the STC5410AD. I partly like the idea, but then again it's not really the kind of MCU I am fan of, containing 512 bytes of sram. I was aiming a few KB (1 at the least). But then again it has 10kb of flash, which is ok. I found a site here on how to program such beasts. http://grauonline.de/wordpress/?p=44

2. Somehow (without soldering to the mowers circuit), attach leads to the lqfp-32 socket, attach the leads to a second circuit, and put my own MCU (I have some spare Atmegas laying around). This I like, as I have a development enironment for AVRs thats working just fine, and I am comfortable with. However how to I get a "inverse" lqfp-32 adapter, I have no idea.