H bridge works using BJTs but not mosfet

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by lettcco, Nov 30, 2009.

1. lettcco

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 30, 2009
    Hello, newbie here--to the forum and to circuit building.

I am using a microcontroller to control the direction of a small DC motor using BJT--2N4401-- in a H bridge configuration, all using the same power source of 3V battery, and it works. I read an article that BJTs is not as efficient as mosfet thus I try to replace the BJTs with IRF510, but I couldn't get to work. Am I missing something requirement wise? thanks
  2. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    Unlike a BJT that is current controlled, a FET needs a minimum voltage on the gate to place it into conduction. In the case if an IRF510, the gate must be 10 volts more positive than the source lead for full conduction.

A closer match to your voltage is a VN10LP. That FET is in TO-92, will pass a bit over 250 ma, and only needs 5 volts on the gate for full conduction. Double the source voltage and you're in business (always get a data sheet by Googling the part number).
  3. cheegii

Nov 24, 2008
    you could use h-bridge mosfet
  4. lettcco

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 30, 2009
    Thanks for the replies! I thought that as long as I exceed the Vgs threshold, the mosfet should operate properly. In the IRF510 datasheet, the Vgs threshold is 2-4V, and since my supply is 3V I thought that would be enough.

If you guys don't mind can you please tell me if my following assuming is correct or not?

The Rds listd on VN10P is 5ohm for 10V Vgs...so when I use in a h bridge config I would have 10ohm in series with my load. I measure my motor load is <1ohm, so with the battery supply =3V the current that passes through is only ~ 0.3A.