Gunshot Locator

kochevnik

Joined Jan 7, 2013
OK - I've been working on this Gunshot Locator project for a couple of weeks - I'm a newbie at a lot of this stuff so be kind please :)

I started with Sparkfun Electret microphone BOBs :
https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9964

I built my own peak detectors, opamps, duplicated the BOB with a different opamp, used a picaxe, used a coridium mcu (which is pretty cool BTW - $10 for a 50 mhz ARM chip) :

http://www.coridiumcorp.com/prod-specs1.html

Even tested a bunch of designs with wav files of various gunshots. Also did a bunch of testing with a frequency generator & learned how to better use my scope. I have the math worked out so that if I could get a consistent readings I can do the location part - time delay of arrival (TDOA) is all worked out.

My main problem after all of this is that I cannot get two different electret mic designs + to give off signals CONSISTENTLY read the gunshot sound and also get consistently read by the microcontroller. Each electret + opamp gives off slightly different signals and when those signals are fed into a peak detector (diode + R + cap) the variance in those components mean that introduces more variance in the readings - and then the microcontrollers adc pins also dont always give totally consistent readings as well, altho this seems something that I could work with if I could get the rest of the circuitry sorted. There is a peak detector IC out there, a PKD01EP but it's not cheap and I'm not sure if it work for this app.

http://octopart.com/partsearch#search/requestData&q=PKD01EP

Some basic info - gunshots have basically two components, one a muzzle blast somewhere in the 75hz to 750hz range - this is what I want to get the peak for and there is also a shockwave at roughly 3 to 4 khz which I need to filter out.