Grounding in electronics question

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Leonard Cua, Aug 4, 2015.

1. Leonard Cua

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 4, 2015
    Hello to all! I am very new to electronics and I have some questions regarding ground in electronics. I understand that there are 3 types of grounds used in electronics Signal, Chassis and Earth. I am confused as to how I should wire it when I encounter it in different schematic diagrams. Thank you in advance and hope someone could help a newbie like me.

Are all of these types of ground connected the same way like the illustration with earth ground below or is signal and chassis ground different?

[​IMG]

2. DickCappels

Aug 21, 2008
    [​IMG]
    In general, all points indicated to be "ground" with a given symbol should connected to one-another. Sometimes there are many signal grounds that need to be kept separate to avoid cross-talk and noise and they usually but not always meet one-another somewhere.

Leonard Cua likes this.

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    The one on the right is especially convenient when you have more than one circuit, but they are not connected, as when an opto-isolator is used or a transformer has more than one secondary winding, because you can put a symbol in the triangle, like, "A" or "B" or "1" or "2".

Leonard Cua likes this.
  4. Leonard Cua

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 4, 2015
    Thank Dick and #12! So does this mean that all types of ground are wired the same way in electronics (you connect all the ground together with the exception if there symbols inside the triangle) and that the reason for making different kinds of symbol for ground is because of their purpose?

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    Connect all similar ground symbols, each in their own group.
    It's normal to have one Earth ground, one chassis ground, and a bunch of circuit ground symbols.
    That's 3 types. They do not get connected together unless you know exactly why and where to mix them.