Grid-tied wind turbine system

Qzz

Joined Jul 5, 2012
I have a varsity project that requires me to build an inverter that will facilitate grid tying. I have basic knowledge of electronics but not enough seemingly to indulge in such an extensive project. A wind turbine will produce a 12 VDC output that will be connected to a charge controller to regulate the input voltage flowing into a battery bank.

The inverter I need to build should then convert the 12 VDC into 230VAC, 50Hz as that is the frequency of operation in South Africa. I need to be able to tie the inverter into the main's grid as the payback period of the system is part of the project. The grid tied system should also enable the system to run during situations whereby no power is generated from turbine. A load of between 500-700 W is expected at the output.

Could anyone please suggest the best possible approaches or reads that could enable one to design the inverter part to have a minimum and maximum input shutdown voltage of 10-15 V and produce a rather pure sine wave at the output with minimum harmonic distortions of around 220-230 VAC.

Much thanx:)

DMahalko

Joined Oct 5, 2008
If your homemade grid-tie project has a design flaw, you may feed power back into the line during a power outage or when the lines are disconnected for maintenance. This may result in the electrocution or death of an electrical lineman that was expecting the disconnected lines to be "safe".

Grid-tie systems are required to pass stringent and expensive safety testing and certification to make sure they fail in a safe manner and don't make the power lines more dangerous for the linemen.

Before you even consider connecting an uncertified home-made power backfeed project to the power grid, I would suggest you contact the local power company so you can get an earful from them, and so they know who to come find when one of their employees accidentally gets killed fixing a downed line.

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010